Information fluency, puggles, puggled and puggies

Note: James to James – shorter headings needed.

The term ‘information fluency’ has recently been used along with or instead of ‘information literacy’. For example the Massachusetts School Library Association  (MSLA) refer to school library expert Danny Callison as stating that “Information fluency is the ability to analyze information needs and to move confidently among media, information, and computer literacy skills resulting in the effective application of a strategy or strategies that will best meet those needs.”  Now the MSLA then go on to say that they base the draft standards for information fluency on The Big Six information literacy model. So – information literacy or information fluency? There are trends for changing/updating names for issues like information literacy but it seems to me that the term ‘information fluency’ is in fact rather vaguer than information literacy. You could, for example be fluent in French or Gaelic but not able to say anything sensible in either language. However, to be information literate (which I’ll return to many times) does imply that a person has understanding as well as fluency.

Following a previous post about echidnas, my environmentally erudite friend Pauline Moore told me that baby echidnas are called puggles and they grow in the mother’s pouch. This reference to ‘puggles’ interested me because there is a Scots word ‘puggled’ which means to be tired out e.g. after working/running/cycling hard. The dictionary also refers to it meaning drunk but I have never heard it used in that way. So one word takes you to another and Pauline’s use of ‘puggles’ reminded me of the word ‘puggie’ which is a hole we made in the ground when playing marbles as kids. Do children play marbles nowadays? Isn’t language great? And if you were good at marbles, would you be marble fluent or marble literate?

3 Responses to “Information fluency, puggles, puggled and puggies”

  1. Carole Bird Says:

    Not sure I agree with your distinction James. While living in Indonesia, my husband moved in academic circles and was literate in bahasa Indonesia. I on the other hand spent more time talking to people in the market place, and was fluent. I couldn’t read or write in Indonesian, and he couldn’t speak it with local villagers!
    On your other topic, I was playing tiddlywinks just last night and read on the instruction sheet!! that the big one of the counter is called the winky. Now I’m fair puggelt.

  2. Pamela Brooks Says:

    Living in the West of Scotland, I have heard the word puggled used to describe someone who is very drunk. Also, I haven’t heard the word puggie used for marble playing – but I was never a marble player. A puggie in this part of the world is a slot machine. So, you could go to pub and get puggled and lose all of your money in the puggie!!

  3. Alison Says:

    My husband, who come from Fife in Scotland, sometimes calls me Puggle, which I always thought was kind of cute and obviously related to the phrase fair puggled, which is used fairly commonly in our household. I was even thinking of using it as part of the name of my new blog (Puggle’s …). So I was a touch horrified when I googled Puggle to find references to rather ugly little dogs, which are apparently a cross between a beagle and a pug. How did that happen?

Leave a Reply

