Wikis can open your eyes and walking along the river

In one of my teaching subjects, my students have been creating wikis or Hotlists for their 2nd assignment and I have been really encouraged by the way the students, who are mainly practising TLs or teachers who will become TLs, have taken on the idea of Web 2.0 as a sharing tool. One student commented that creating a wiki “has opened my eyes to creating resources for students”. One aspect of wikis that students have learned is that resource creation by TLs can be meaningful and tailored very specifically to one group of students. One students (thanks Elisa) has created a wiki on which  all the students can post the URLs of their pathfinders or hotlists. When this is complete I will post the URL for the general TL community to explore.

Now that the lighter nights are here in Australia – you only really get light nights in Europe e.g. where it can be still light at 11.30pm in Scotland in summer – walking along the Murrumbidgee River is a joy. Flowing water relaxes your mind the walk is peaceful apart from the screeches of the sulphur crested cockatoos whose demonic calls clash with the more genteel call of other birds. A river is like the sea – you can do the same walk but you never see exactly the same things.

2 Responses to “Wikis can open your eyes and walking along the river”

  1. Dianne Says:

    Funny you should mention one of my favourite birds.
    My mother went to Sydney to give birth to me and came home (to Walgett) with a brand new baby and a baby sulphur crested cockatoo. That noisy bird will turn 50 early next year. She has spent her life in a very small cage which is a bit sad.

    When I lived near the uni in 2004 I released a beautiful sulphur crested cocatoo whose owner had kept for 11 years then got tired of him. He has been living around the road that goes from the uni to Poiles Rd so keep an eye out for a single bird who will let people approach. I’d love to know if he is still about.
    Dianne

  2. เครื่องปั่นจักรยานออกกําลังกาย Says:

    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for
    this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

