Retirement and Dubai

Well, this retirement lark is OK so far. I have to admit that flying out to Dubai with my wife, to see our son, daughter in law and (get ready for the aaaah) 2 month old twin granddaughters (Abigail and Lola), on my first day as a man of leisure and pleasure (not necessarily in that order) was a very pleasant start. One of my colleagues reckons that within 3 months, I’ll be wanting to do another research project and will be knocking on the door of my local secondary school, Dunbar Grammar School. I went to this school a few decades ago, when it first opened in a new building, and I’ve done some projects there before. At present, I have no plans to do more research in schools but ….

Dubai is a fascinating place and a place of contrasts, where the affluent and the poor are side by side. If you are one of the affluent, there is a lot of luxury about, in terms of consumer products – if you are into shopping, unlike me – and a range of excellent restaurants, if you like great food, like me. The architecture in Dubai is often debated but I think that there are some very impressively designed buildings. The picture below shows the Burj Khalifa, the world’s tallest building, taken from the Al Safa park. I think that its anattractive building and you can see how high it is, when you contrast the other buildings, which are skyscrapers in their own right. See what you think.

Leave a Reply

