New poetry book, the council’s flowers and my flowers

I’ve just started reading the Poetry Book Society’s  Autumn Choice Place by the American Poet Jorie Graham. It’s an unusual book. Firstly, it is bigger than the normal poetry book, about 50% wider. Secondly, the poems are structured in a way that you are presented with lines of different length, with some lines also indented e.g. from the first poem Sundown:

Sometimes the day

                                                    light winces

                                                   behind you and it is

There is also no punctuation i.e. the following line is:

a great treasure in this case today a man on

However, I soon became accustomed to these quirks (presumably not what Jorie Graham would call them) and enjoyed the poem. The man is on a horse on a beach at St Laurent Sur Mer, famous for being Omaha Beach, the scene of a famous battle in World War 2. The horse has “light-struck hooves” which pass “the edge of the furling break”. I only read one poem per day and sometimes read it twice in one day, so that I can allow its effect on me.

In my home town of Dunbar, the local council do a sterling job of producing colourful gardens across the town each summer. The flowers are late this summer (see below) but have developed very well lately. The first photo below shows part of the gardens at Lauderdale Park  and is a fairly typical example of local council gardens in the UK i.e. shaped sections with groups of flowers placed together to provide an indepth show of colour. This year, for the first time, the council are backing a scheme to plant sections of wild flowers in the town. The 2nd photo below shows an example of this initiative, which is a welcome addition to the town.

As I’ve said before on the blog, it has been a dreadful summer in the UK and this part of Scotland has been no different. My flowers are about a month behind. I guess the silver lining is that we are now getting an unusual display of summer flowers in September. The 3rd photo below shows a flower I’ve grown this year for the first time. It’s Salpiglossis aka Painted Tongue and it’s a delicate creature. I grew them from plugs I bought and thought I’d lost them a couple of times, but bringing them into the house did the trick. See the close up photo below and you’ll see the Painted Tongue reference. For good measure, the 4th photo is of one of my double petunias.

Public gardens in Dunbar

Wild flowers in Dunbar

Salpiglossis

Double petunia

Leave a Reply

